2004 GLS cruise control replacement

operagost

New member
Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
0
My cruise won't set, although the CRUISE light comes on. The dealer claims it's the CC module, and quoted me $850 for it, installed. I know that I can get the real OEM part for under $300 from some places, and I doubt it will take hours to install. Should I try this myself, or is it less straightforward that it seems (the mount, the throttle control cable, and the harness)? Should I get the repair manual? I rarely work on cars myself anymore-- this particular incident just gave me sticker shock.
 

C&C

Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
634
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Location
Mount Pleasant, SC
I'm not familiar with the Alero cruise control, but some (cruise controls) have a vacuum operated servo unit, and without vacuum will not work. If equipped with vacuum, check for broken/leaking lines coming or going to/from the vacuum reservoir (and servo). If electrical (actuator), please disregard my post.
 

operagost

New member
Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
0
OK, I'm just about fed up with this forum constantly holding up my posts for moderation-- and never being released. I'm going to try for the third time to post a reply to my own thread-- not to mention having to try to START the thread twice.

I'm going to leave out the URL for the part in the hope that this is why I'm being moderated. WOULD BE NICE if the forum said so.

Go to JC Whitney's site and search for "Alero cruise control module". It looks to be electrically operated. I don't see a vacuum line, which doesn't surprise me since it should get all the data it needs from the harness (speed, brake switch, and throttle position).
 

ThePabst

New member
Joined
Jan 16, 2011
Messages
256
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Rochester NY
Its a simple swap and a GREAT salvage yard part. Most GM cars of this vintage will use the same part No.... and fail all the time. It just snaps into place, once you see it you'll see what I'm talking about... check to be sure the cable is not broken, if not be cool with that cable, they are becoming a rare bird. FYI, this unit is controlled by the BCM and is an electronic unit, no vacuum.
 
Last edited:

operagost

New member
Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Update: I bought a replacement on ebay. Thing is, although it's the same model, the one I have was pulled from a 2003 Cavalier. So, as you might have guessed, that cable is a little different. The clip that attaches to the throttle is different, and the clip that attaches to the bracket alongside the throttle cable is different. So, I assume this means I messed up and HAVE to get one pulled from an Alero-- and maybe even a V6 Alero-- so that I have the right cable. The good news is, it only cost me $38 including the shipping. I could make those kinds of mistakes all day and still beat the dealer estimate.

I can't use the old throttle control cable, because as part of my post-mortem, I GENTLY pulled it out and found that the ribbon was snapped. So, that was the problem.

Any other ideas? I'll probably go to the junkyard this time, since I now have practice pulling out the one on my car. :D
 
Top