oldsmobile forums   oldsmobile forums


Go Back   Oldsmobile Forums > Older Requested Oldsmobile Models > Oldsmobile Toronado

Notices

Oldsmobile Toronado Forum specifically intended for Oldsmobile Toronado based discussions.

Oldsmobile Forum: 1992 Trofeo information center and some gages not working.
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old April 23rd, 2018
hightonedsob hightonedsob is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 6
hightonedsob is on a distinguished road
1992 Trofeo information center and some gages not working.

This is my first time with an oldsmobile as I just bought this car about two weeks ago. AC works great and most lights work but I have nothing displayed above the speedo and tach. Tachometer and fuel Guage seems to be ok along with battery voltage but I don't think anything on the left side works. Starting the car sends the speedometer to 50 mph where it stays until shut off. Any ideas on where I should look?
Reply With Quote

  #2  
Old April 24th, 2018
NINETY EIGHT REGENCY's Avatar
NINETY EIGHT REGENCY NINETY EIGHT REGENCY is offline
Administrator
ADMINISTRATOR
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: HOUSTON,TEXAS
Posts: 1,798
NINETY EIGHT REGENCY has disabled reputation
Check the computer in the dash on the right hand side. It holds the BCM and ECM.
__________________

RANSOM ELI OLDS REINCARNATED
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 25th, 2018
hightonedsob hightonedsob is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 6
hightonedsob is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by NINETY EIGHT REGENCY View Post
Check the computer in the dash on the right hand side. It holds the BCM and ECM.
where is it located? Will I need to remove the dash?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 25th, 2018
NINETY EIGHT REGENCY's Avatar
NINETY EIGHT REGENCY NINETY EIGHT REGENCY is offline
Administrator
ADMINISTRATOR
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: HOUSTON,TEXAS
Posts: 1,798
NINETY EIGHT REGENCY has disabled reputation
It is inside the glovebox or whatever they call it now. It is straight ahead. It is screwed in place. Once you remove the door, you will see it. It takes some effort to get it out. You will not need to remove the dash. The door to the glovebox must be removed and unbolted. They still sell the computers. I saw them on Amazon and Rockauto. You will take the BCM and ECM and transfer them to the new computer following the instructions. You must be careful removing and transferring the BCM and ECM to the new computer.
__________________

RANSOM ELI OLDS REINCARNATED
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 28th, 2018
hightonedsob hightonedsob is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 6
hightonedsob is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by NINETY EIGHT REGENCY View Post
It is inside the glovebox or whatever they call it now. It is straight ahead. It is screwed in place. Once you remove the door, you will see it. It takes some effort to get it out. You will not need to remove the dash. The door to the glovebox must be removed and unbolted. They still sell the computers. I saw them on Amazon and Rockauto. You will take the BCM and ECM and transfer them to the new computer following the instructions. You must be careful removing and transferring the BCM and ECM to the new computer.
Ok, I'll check into it. What about all the talk online about it being a bad cap on the dash cluster?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 2nd, 2018
NINETY EIGHT REGENCY's Avatar
NINETY EIGHT REGENCY NINETY EIGHT REGENCY is offline
Administrator
ADMINISTRATOR
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: HOUSTON,TEXAS
Posts: 1,798
NINETY EIGHT REGENCY has disabled reputation
Check into that as well.
__________________

RANSOM ELI OLDS REINCARNATED
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 28th, 2018
hightonedsob hightonedsob is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 6
hightonedsob is on a distinguished road
Replaced a couple caps, found out someone had unplugged the ribbon cable that goes to the information center and the left plug for the speedo, temp, and oil pressure was plugged in but they shifted it over and left one pin out. Now oil pressure and information center works but temp shoots all the way over to the right and speedo runs to fast. Maybe 50 mph when it's only about 15-20.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Advertising
cars connected social network




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
oldsmobileforums.com recognizes that "Oldsmobile", it's logos and various model names and numbers are registered trademarks of the General Motors Corporation. These terms are used for identification purposes only. oldsmobileforums.com is not affiliated in any way with the General Motors Corporation, Oldsmobile or any other company listed herein. All information on this site is the opinion of its members and not the opinion of the site itself. ©2017 oldsmobileforums.com. All rights reserved.
MADISON ROSS MEDIA GROUP MARKETPLACE
Need products for your Oldsmobile? Check out your options at the links below:

Miss that Olds 442? Believe it or not, Kia may have something for you. The Kia Stinger is a large sport-oriented hatchback sedan in the mold of the Audi A7.